What do I do if a customer comes to retrieve their vehicle after I have filed my mechanics lien?
They may pick up the vehicle within the next 30 days of the lien filing provided they pay you the total
amount owed plus our fee. Additional charges may be assessed for storage if you have a sign posted stating
that you charge storage on all vehicles left after work is completed. Your sign must also shows the daily
storage fee. Your customer must pay all fees due at the time the vehicle is picked up. No partial payment
may be accepted as it would invalidate the mechanics lien already in process.
What if someone opposed my lien?
For North Carolina: Any person who has an interest in the vehicle can stop the lien by filing a Declaration of Opposition with us and
the DMV within 10 days of the mailing date of the Notice of Pending Lien (by certified mail). When this happens, we
cannot conduct the lien sale unless:
We file a court action within 30 days from the date of the notice and receive a court judgment in your favor.
We obtain a signed Release of Interest from the person who opposed the lien. This will be included on the notice the DMV sends to you.
For Florida: The owner has a right to recover possession of the vehicle by posting a bond in accordance with the provisions of Florida Statute 559.917.
Once the vehicle is sold, what does the new owner do to apply for registration and title?
The new owner must have a valid North Carolina or Florida drivers license, proof of ownership (i.e. DMV Authorization of Title
or Court Order of Title received from us) and proof of required insurance coverage and take the information to the DMV.
DMV will issue title, registration and license plate. Note: You do not have to obtain all items up front (i.e. title,
registration and license plate). You are only required to purchase the title. Once the car is road worthy, you may
return to the DMV with the title and apply for the registration and license plate.